Login RegisterFAQ
Melbourne Drains Index/Map
By
0 Reply with quote Permalink
So I just got linked this index of (supposedly) all the big drains the CC know of in Melbourne and the surrounding suburbs, the link to which I'll withhold for now. Besides, I presume most people around here will have seen it.
Anyway, I started mapping the locations on my private google map, and I have a couple of questions:

1. I am kinda new at this and I understand that there's some code of conduct that frowns upon just handing people drain locations on a silver platter? Am I on the mark with that?
2. If no. 1 is not too much of a problem, would people be interested in me maybe making this map a little more 'public'. Not like a general public sort of 'public', maybe just on the forums or even only to individuals?

Sorry if I come across as something of a newbie. :)
By
Thanks for your query :)

Referring to our code of conduct:

"Location Details:
Posts in the public forum must not reveal any specific location/entry details, either by map, photos, or descriptions on how to enter specific sites. Please contact staff before posting if you are unsure whether your material will be acceptable."

Ultimately though, anything members want to communicate by PM is at their own discretion. Can you be sure the recipient is trustworthy?
The protection of site locations is one of our highest priorities - not out of arrogance - but to ensure safety and security.

Cheers,
Nuggs
acually is nuggs
My Explores
By
Cheers Nuggs,
Given your response I think I'll just keep it to myself for now. If people want to see some of the info, I might selectively reveal individual locations if they PM me.
Thanks for clearing that up. :)
By
Nuggs wrote: Ultimately though, anything members want to communicate by PM is at their own discretion. Can you be sure the recipient is trustworthy?
I was sent the .kmz file by Panic after I had been a member for a short time.