Login RegisterFAQ
Strange weighty thingos
By
0 Reply with quote Permalink
Hey guys, I'm relatively new to draining and I came across something interesting in a alcove whilst walking through a drain. It was a sized Metal cylindrical weight on a cable connected to a plastic thingo. I'm wondering if anyone knows what purpose it serves? I'm theorising it's for sewerage relief valve but the lack of smell makes me doubt this.
Anyway, thanks dudes

If posting this photo is no Bueno please remove it and scold me I'm sorry.
This is an example of what I'm talking about, I took this photo of one of the dirtier alcoves the other one or two I saw, the other ones were really clean. :)
By
I've never seen one of those before. But I suspect you're right about it being some sort of sewer relif valve. There appears to be a cylinder above it, and a trap door in the far wall. It would be great if you could stick your camera down there and get a shot looking upwards and further in.
I suspect the weight normally holds an overflow door closed and the cylinder is a float that opens the door. Or it could be a flood gauge. The cylinder flips a switch that somewhere indicates the drain is flooding.
All speculation of course. Which drain is it in? Or Which suburb is the drain in? Please don't advise the exact location.
"Oh! That's YOUR web site!" ... "Yep, that one." http://www.uer.ca/urbanadventure/www.ur ... windex.htm
And read the damn Newbies FAQ and guide to writing a first post! viewtopic.php?f=3&t=4257&p=40693
By
1 Reply with quote Permalink
Panic! wrote:
02 Feb 2018, 8:25 pm
I've never seen one of those before. But I suspect you're right about it being some sort of sewer relif valve. There appears to be a cylinder above it, and a trap door in the far wall. It would be great if you could stick your camera down there and get a shot looking upwards and further in.